MINUTES OF BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING SAGE PORT HOMEOWNERS ASSOCIATION JANUARY 9, 2006

Meeting was called to order at 7:06 p.m. Board members present were Mark Hesse, Carol Kumpost, CJ Meyer, Steve Lechner, Sandy Anderson, and Karen Ruffin. Also in attendance were Gail Hesse and Deb Backle.

Minutes of the November 14, 2005 had been approved via email. There was not a quorum for the December meeting so no business was conducted and no minutes written.

Treasurer's Report: Because no formal meeting was held in December, the Treasurer and President met December 12, 2005 to pay expenses due before the next meeting. These included credit card charges of \$24.20 for postage, phone, and website hosting. Powers Phillips PC billing of \$360 was also paid.

Income in the amount of \$50 was received from a real estate closing on Lot 2, Blk 14.

Other Business: On December 18, 2005 Mark Hesse sent an email to all Board members with the following four (4) motions:

- 1. Motion to approve the minutes from the November 2005 Board of Directors meeting and post the minutes on the HOA website.
- 2. Motion to approve:
 - a) setting the 2006 Assessments at \$50 per lot
 - b) the proposed 2006 budget
- 3. Motion to approve mailing the assessment notices the first week of January 2006, before the postage rate increase.
- 4. Motion to approve scheduling the 2006 Annual Meeting of Members on Wednesday, January 25, 2006 at 7:00 PM. The purpose of the meeting is to elect three (3) Directors. Notice of meeting will be given in accordance with Section 3.4 of the Bylaws.

The following four (4) Directors voted to approve all four motions: Steve Lechner, Carol Kumpost, Steve Coffin, and Sandy Anderson

Karen Ruffin and CJ Meyer did not cast a vote. All four motions were approved.

Committee Reports:

Karen Ruffin gave the report from the **Nominating Committee**. The job of the nominating committee is to present to the Board the names of candidates in a number equal to or more than the positions up for election. Three (3) Director positions were to be filled at the Annual Meeting of Members. Current Board members Kumpost, Lechner, and Ruffin had expressed their desire to run for re-election. Four other members of the community had also made known their desire to run for the Board. They were Leonard Westlake, Patricia Ryan, Mike Anderson and Paul Stremick. Even though the committee could have limited their recommendation to three candidates (see Article IV, Sect. 4.3 of the ByLaws) they recommended to the Board that all who had expressed an interest be placed on the ballot. The Board accepted the recommendation of the nominating committee and seven (7) candidates will be listed on the ballot for the three (3) Director positions.

The same Article IV of the ByLaws also calls for the Board of Directors to appoint a nominating committee prior to each annual meeting of members to serve from the close of such annual meeting until the close of the next annual meeting. Motion was made and seconded that CJ Meyer chair the nominating committee and select two or more members of the Association to serve on that committee. The motion was unanimously passed.

There was no report from the ACC. In previous meetings the Board had discussed and attempted to get members of the Architectural Control Committee covered under the existing Error and Omissions policy paid for by the Board. Annual member dues provide the source of funds to purchase this policy. When it was learned from the insurance carrier that this could not be done, the Board sought a legal opinion, with the blessing of the ACC, on how things might be structured to provide similar protection for the ACC. That opinion came in the form of a draft of an assignment letter to be signed by the ACC and the HOA Board. Motion was made and seconded that Mark write the ACC requesting their written decision as regards the signing of such a letter.

Monies that the ACC collects for reviewing plans for new construction and additions to existing structures have always been give to the Board for deposit in the HOA checking account. Currently the ACC has no money to purchase their own policy. Motion was also made and seconded that the Treasurer review past records and come up with an estimate of how much has been collected by ACC in the way of fees.

The two motions mentioned above being made and duly seconded, passed unanimously.

The **Document Review Committee** was created in March 2005 with Steve Coffin volunteering to chair the committee. In June there was a request to look at previous Board correspondence. In August a survey was sent to the community and the committee reviewed the results of the survey. At the September meeting the Board asked the committee to have a report ready for the Board in October. To date no formal report has been presented to the Board. Time was spent by members of the committee and Mark is

to forward to the Board electronically, a draft containing some suggestions for possible modifications to the existing covenants. The motion was made and seconded to disband the Document Review Committee. That motion passed unanimously.

Communications Committee: No Report.

Events Committee: No Report

Deb Backle reported that the **Welcome Committee** continues to try and contact as many new residents that they know about. They are going to check again with the restaurant at Bear Dance regarding dining coupons once the restaurant opens in the spring.

Steve Lechner reported for the **Wildfire Committee**. We are still waiting for funds to be disbursed on the last grant. Perry Park was working on a Community Protection Plan. Something similar could be done in Sage Port.

Old Business: None discussed.

New Business:

Mark had received a letter from a member of the community regarding an issue they had with a neighbor. The tone of the letter was very cooperative and a good example of how issues regarding covenants, when discussed in a reasonable manner, often lead to an agreement that is acceptable to both parties.

The annual meeting is January 24, 2006.

The next Board meeting is February 13, 2006 at the Hesse residence

Meeting was adjourned at 9:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Karen Ruffin Secretary